Change of Name

I have just changed my name by Deed Poll.

My new name, and it is one that all official channels must now refer to me as, is Not Applicable, or more correctly Not of the family Applicable.

I shall now use this name to fill in a fraction of my Census form, and any other official documentation, and as the name is personal to myself, I also claim its copyright only in so much as it applies to me, so if you want to use the same name, go right ahead.

You will see that I have also changed the name of the blog to reflect my new name. The business can stay the same, its only a trading name.

Irrespective of any ‘policy’ in place, I shall not pay any ‘fees’ or ‘administrative charges’ to anyone to update their records, I shall merely inform government departments of my new name. It shall fall upon them to update their systems at their own expense.

I may, at my choosing, change my name back at some stage in the future, or I may decide to keep the name if I get used to it, or perhaps select another.

Note my new email address (for the time being)

Government databases?…. you won’t keep up.

About Not Applicable

What's in a name? This is the name I have chosen using a Deed Poll to fill in the UK Census 2011 form. Its my form of protest.
This entry was posted in Main Page. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Change of Name

  1. Henry North says:

    So if I phone you up I’ll have to ask for Not?

  2. Katabasis says:

    Nice work!

    Just remember – don’t tell ’em your name, Pike!

  3. Pingback: Change of Name | The Albion Alliance presents

  4. Sean O'Hare says:

    Hi Not of the family Applicable,

    Presumably government departments, agencies etc. have an audit trail by which they can find out your original names and match you with the legal fiction? Even so it would be great fun if large numbers of people changed their name to your new name and it would make any audit trail very difficult to follow.

    • Hi Sean,

      Yes you are right, there will be an audit trail…. eventually.

      As I pointed out in my post ‘Practical ways to combat the Database State’, whilst you will have to inform various companies and government departments of this change, (the list in the link will show you how many databases it will disrupt) it will take several months for the databases to update & coordinate. You can then decide to live with that or even change your name again…even back to your original name.
      https://pjcjournal.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/how-to-combat-the-database-state/

  5. Brilliant – I love it! 😛

  6. Roger Thornhill says:

    Dear Mr Applicable,

    What a great idea.

    Yours,

    Cameron Forehead

  7. defender says:

    Dear Mr Not Applicable,

    I wish you all the very best,
    regards

    Mr Data Protection Act

    ps, I have a ten year old cat registered at vets as miss Ginger Mingetta

  8. jameshigham says:

    You go for it, Not Applicable. Beautiful.

  9. An excellent move Not.

    Kudos to you for doing this!!!

    CR.

  10. Pingback: Not a normal traffic day | Not Applicable on Politics

  11. Henry North says:

    OH the possibilities are endless… Are they not…

Comments are closed.